A WepWopper’s Shameless Plug No. 1 & Publishing Your First Story

My new short story, DOUBLE PARKED, was published recently at StanleytheWhale.com. Check it out, if you’ve been digging what we do here at We Put Words On Paper.

But this isn’t simply a shameless plug. I’d like to share my experience, as many of you are probably, venturing out into the publishing game yourselves. I’m pretty new to the publishing world, myself, and know that I always cherish, hearing about others’ successes.

DOUBLE PARKED was a story I conceived on a Sunday, while walking through a Barnes & Nobles parking lot. A week later, I had a finished manuscript ready to bring to my fellow WepWoppers for critique. DOUBLE PARKED was the rare case, in which, our group had very little in the way of criticism. Instead the piece was greeted with encouragement and enthusiasm, which was great, but also scared me. Does this mean it is good? I’ll let you be the judge of that, but the point is that I had a room full of people who told me it was quality.

So, I made some polishing touches and decided I wanted to try to get it published. I didn’t really know where to start. Where do you sell a short story these days? I did some reading around. A lot of people told me to buy Writer’s Market. So I did, but before I cracked it open, I found this really nifty site, called Duotrope’s Digest.

Duotrope’s Digest, an award-winning, free writers’ resource listing over 3175 current Fiction and Poetry publications.

Duotrope personalizes the search around parameters specific to the piece you already hold. Duotrope assumes that you have written the piece and want to find it a home, not the other way around. So, if you have some crazy off-the-wall short story lying around, because you think it just simply too crazy for anyone to publish, give Duotrope a try. I bet you’ll find plenty of online and print publications that are just as crazy as you are. I did.

In fact, I found so many that I decided I would submit my work simultaneously to five publications a week until some one said, “Yes.” I submitted and waited, receiving rejection after rejection, but held onto hope that someone would say that magic word.

And then Stanley the Whale and their editor, Rob, came along and said:

[Double Parked] is well-written and truly epitomizes what StW strives to be . . . I’d love to publish this piece.

Nowadays, most e-publishers don’t pay, but Stanley the Whale does. And my story will appear both online and in print. I couldn’t have asked for more from my first real attempt at publishing a short story.

So write. Get onto Duotrope’s Digest and weather the endless ream of rejections, because all it takes is one yes and you’ll feel like a million bucks.

About bneyut

I put words on paper.
This entry was posted in original advice, original writings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A WepWopper’s Shameless Plug No. 1 & Publishing Your First Story

  1. kimmerlyaj says:

    Looked at your “hits” last night, B, and you’re by far the most popular story 🙂

    Thanks for the advice about Duotrope. Does it give you a name for the category it describes? Or just magazines to send to?

  2. Atxatlarge says:

    Thanks for sharing the success

Leave a Reply

